My Favorite Childrens Books

This morning my friend Jamie asked for a good gift idea for a baby shower for her boss.  Well I love to give books to my friends who are expecting.  They are a great gift and surprisingly unique….because most people go for the burp clothes or big giant bows.  Which I love too but I feel like the books are something really special they can keep forever….and never grow out of!

My first favorite is:

“The Velveteen Rabbit”



My FAVORITE part of the book is when the Horse and Velveteen are talking about being real……please take a second to read this really sweet conversation between friends!

____________________________________________________________________

“The Skin Horse had lived longer in the nursery than any of the others. He was so old and most of the hairs in his tail had been pulled out to string bead necklaces. For nursery magic is very strange and wonderful, and only those playthings that are old and wise and experienced like the Skin Horse understand all about it.

“What is REAL?” asked the Rabbit one day, when they were lying side by side near the nursery fender, before Nana came to tidy the room. “Does it mean having things that buzz inside you and a stick-out handle?”

“Real isn’t how you are made,” said the Skin Horse. “It’s a thing that happens to you. When a child loves you for a long, long time, not just to play with, but REALLY loves you, then you become Real.”

“Does it hurt?” asked the Rabbit.

“Sometimes,” said the Skin Horse, for he was always truthful. “When you are Real you don’t mind being hurt.”

“Does it happen all at once, like being wound up,” he asked, “or bit by bit?”

“It doesn’t happen all at once,” said the Skin Horse. “You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in your joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

“I suppose you are real?” said the Rabbit. And then he wished he had not said it, for he thought the Skin Horse might be sensitive. But the Skin Horse only smiled.”

_____________________________________________________________________

My second favorite children’s book is

”Goodnight Moon”



“Goodnight stars, Goodnight air, goodnight noises everywhere.”

My niece, Ashton, has this entire book memorized to this day and she’s 17.  I would read this to her all the time when she was little.  I’ll never look at this book and not think of her and listening to her read it with me. 

So there you have it my random post about children’s books.  Life has been busy for me lately but I’m keeping up reading all the blogs out there just not finding the time to write on my own!  HA!  So I’ll do better…I’m thinking of following suit to my wombie, Brooke, and do 21 days of thankfulness.  The holidays seem like the perfect time for that! 

XOXO – Spooniest

One Reply to “My Favorite Childrens Books”

Leave a Reply

