Turkey Lurkey

Sorry for being MIA.  I’ve had a lot going on….but then again who doesn’t with all of the holiday festivities coming and going! 

We had Thanksgiving at 4 different places and it was awesome!  Each time our friends/family would send us home with leftovers!  My Mom still thinks I’m a starving 20 year old…oh wait some days I am!  Not really but it’s sweet of all of them to think of us and it’s nice to have it ready to go in the kitchen! 

Today I am making some chili with my leftover turkey! 

Saute 1 chopped onion and 1 chopped poblano pepper in olive oil until tender.  Add on 28-ounce can diced tomatoes, two 15.5 ounce cans kidney beans (rinsed), 2 cups shredded roasted turkey, 2 cups water, and 2 teaspoons ground cumin: season with salt and pepper.  Simmer until thickened, 20 -25 minutes…..and magnafique chili on a cold day! 

This recipe and picture is from Real Simple.  They have some other great recipes for left over turkey I’m trying this week. 

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!  I am so thankful for so much this season…..

 

Leave a Reply

