May is the Month

May is Skin Cancer Awareness Month. 

The statistics are staggering how many people are diagnosed with skin cancer each year and I became one of them two years ago.  I had 2 melanoma’s removed from my body and both left scars that I look at each day and remember how lucky I am that I wasn’t one of the many that die each year from something that is preventable in most cases. 

I’ll be the first to admit I didn’t even know what sunscreen was….who are you kidding…where is the oil!?!?!?

IMG_0314 (2)

(how about those tan lines, huh?)

Please take some time to look at this website to see general facts, who is diagnosed commonly, babies/kids and sun, tanning booths, etc.

Do I hate looking more pale than I used to?  Absolutely!  But let me just tell you I have tried everything under the sun to fake it without “faking it”…you know?

These are the things I like most:

-Spray Tanning and not the kind in the booths but the kind where you have someone spraying you.  It’s a little uncomfortable for someone to stare at me half naked but totally worth it! 

-Jergens Natural Glow Daily Moisturizer

jergens

-A good bronzer

bronzer

I will leave you with the ABC’s of Melanoma.  This will help you to remember what to check for and just go do it!

  • Asymmetry: Half the lesion does not match the other half.
  • Border irregularity: The edges are ragged, notched, or blurred.
  • Color variegation: Pigmentation is not uniform and may display shades of tan, brown, or black; white, reddish, or blue discoloration is of particular concern.
  • Diameter: A diameter greater than 6 mm is characteristic, although some melanomas may have smaller diameters; any growth in a nevus warrants an evaluation.
  • Evolving: Changes in the lesion over time are characteristic; this factor is critical for nodular or amelanotic (nonpigmented) melanoma, which may not exhibit the classic criteria above.
Leave a Reply

