Before Boys

100_1101_edited

Before my boys….Ben, Deuce, & Reggie…..I lived here some alone and some with my sweet sister Kelly.  My very own cute little house I worked so hard for and bought at the ripe age of 23.  I remember being so uncertain about it all and wondering if I would really be able make it by.  I did it for 2 years and did it with great pride and joy. 

When I moved in with Ben there was a lot of talk from my family if I was making the right choice moving in with someone before marriage or if you are my Mom then you just flat out say “Living In Sin”.  I was right there with them…..I had no idea if I was making the right choice. 

I love this house.  I loved it’s smell, the way the grass looked in the mornings when I would walk to my car, the way the stairs to my room hated my guts, the nice hallway that Brooke so sweetly helped me paint, the crazy lady across the street that wore the same Cosby-esque looking sweater every Saturday….everything about it I loved.  I was scared that the feeling of being sad about leaving it was because I was not certain about moving in with a stinky boy. 

But I realize now it wasn’t that at all….my life with Ben has always been the right thing for me….It was that I just really was going to miss this house!  Even now as I write this I’m teary eye’d wondering about how it’s doing and if the girls that live in it treat it nice (well I know they do because they pay me every month)…but you know what I mean?  I miss it because it stood not only for my life as a “kid” but it stood for my biggest achievement yet. 

My life is happier than it ever has been in my new little yellow house with all my boys….but to go back ONE. MORE. TIME. – walk in that house and jump around with my Mom because we were so happy I found “IT”-“THE ONE”-“MINE”….it felt OH SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

